e-Visa Tanzania 🇹🇿

Tanzania Mainland & Zanzibar

The e-Visa is valid for tourist or business travel (90 days maximum and 1 entry per person). Travelers must hold a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of arrival in Tanzania. Once issued, you must enter Tanzania with the authorization within 90 days. The visa validity period will then start from the date of your arrival in the country, and not when the authorization is issued.

You can enter Tanzania via one of these 5 points: Julius Nyerere airport(Dar es Salaam), Kilimanjaro airport, Abeid Amani Karume airport(Zanzibar), Namanga border (Kenya ) or Tunduma border (Zambia ). You don't need to know anyone in Tanzania to apply. You must be out of the country at the time of application and have a means of leaving the country (return air ticket, etc.).

Everything is done entirely online, so you don't have to send anything by post, and you don't have to go anywhere. The photocopy of the passport, the passport photo and the plane ticket will be sent once the form has been filled in. You'll then receive a PDF file, which you'll need to print out in color and present on boarding and on arrival in Tanzania.

Starting an e-Visa application Tanzania

Single rate of 39 € per passenger
Excluding consular fees, if applicable


Frequently asked questions about the Tanzania e-Visa

Located in East Africa, Tanzania, or the United Republic of Tanzania, is a country known for its large wilderness areas still preserved from mass tourism. By visiting Tanzania you will be able to discover the famous "big five": elephants, lions, leopards, buffalos and rhinoceroses. Tanzania is often called the pearl of Africa because of its exceptional biodiversity. If Tanzania leaves you dreaming, apply for your visa online now on our website.

From June to October, enjoy the dry season and temperate climate for your safaris and swimming in Tanzania. On the contrary, avoid the tourist rush by going to Tanzania outside of the summer vacations and the end of the year festivities.

Since 2018, the Tanzanian government has introduced an e-visa that allows you to visit mainland Tanzania and the island of Zanzibar for business travel or private tourism.

As a French, Swiss, Belgian or other eligible national, find out how to obtain a tourism, volunteer or business visa for a stay of up to 90 days in Tanzania.

Travel to Tanzania with an electronic visa: procedures and deadlines

Whether you are a business traveler or a leisure traveler, preparing for your trip to Tanzania involves obtaining a visa appropriate to the purpose of your stay abroad after purchasing your airline tickets. Before applying for a visa, make sure your passport is valid. Your identity document must be valid for at least 6 months after your arrival date at your destination to obtain an e-visa for Tanzania.

The Tanzania eVisa is available to over 100 different nationalities, including French, Belgian and Swiss nationals.

Entrust your electronic visa application for Tanzania to Visamundi, an agency specialized in travel documents for individuals and professionals. All you need to do is to provide us with a photocopy of your passport, a passport photo and your return flight tickets from our online form, after having filled in the reason for your stay in Tanzania as well as your arrival and departure dates. If you are traveling to Tanzania for business or humanitarian purposes, a letter of invitation will also be required. We will then take care of the rest of the procedures related to your e-visa application for Tanzania.

With Visamundi, make the choice of simplicity and efficiency. Our team will carefully check the conformity of your documents and will obtain an answer from the authorities concerning your visa application in 5 days on average. Therefore, make your application on our website at least 5 days before your arrival date in Tanzania to organize your departure, including a relatively urgent departure. We also process group applications to facilitate your departure with family, friends or business.

With our online eVisa application process, you do not need to know anyone locally to obtain a visa for Tanzania. However, you must be in a country other than Tanzania when you apply, you must not be in possession of a Tanzanian resident visa and you must have a way to leave the country once you are there, namely a return air ticket. If your situation corresponds to all of these criteria, we invite you to apply for an e-visa with our experienced agency.

Once issued, your eVisa for Tanzania will be valid for a maximum of 90 days from the date of your arrival in the country. Please note that the local authorities may reduce the validity period depending on the information you provide. You will receive the visa in electronic format and will have to print it in color to present it to the competent authorities upon your arrival in Tanzania. However, the residence permit will only be valid for an arrival in Tanzania within 90 days of its issuance, so it is useless, or even counterproductive, to anticipate your e-visa application too much once you have booked your outbound and return flights.

Thanks to the e-visa for Tanzania, prepare your trip online without having to go to the embassy. Simplified compared to a classic visa application, the online process also allows you to obtain a visa in a shorter time. Please note that the e-visa for Tanzania is only valid from 3 airports: Julius Nyerere airport(Dar es Salaam), Kilimanjaro airport and Abeid Amani Karume airport of Kisauni(Zanzibar), and 2 land borders: Namanga and Tunduma. If you arrive by sea or from another border on Tanzanian soil, we invite you to apply for a classic visa at the Tanzanian embassy or at your port of arrival.

How much does a visa for Tanzania cost?

Consular fees for a visa to Tanzania start at €46 per traveller, excluding service charges.

Visamundi provides transparent e-Visa services for Tanzania. From as little as €46 in consular fees per traveler, you can travel to Tanzania with a valid e-Visa thanks to the services of our agency. For a stay of 90 days or less, you also need to obtain an e-Tourist and e-Volunteer visa. For a business visa, on the other hand, expect to pay €230 in consular fees per traveler.

In case of refusal to issue your e-visa for Tanzania by the competent authorities, Visamundi commits to reimburse you the full amount of the expenses incurred for the steps related to your e-visa application. Choose financial security by trusting our team during the preparation of your professional or tourist stay in Tanzania. We are at your disposal for any information you may require by phone, email or via the online chat available on our website.

How long is the visa valid for Tanzania?

The e-Visa issued will be based on the dates of stay that you indicate in the form. It allows you to stay for a maximum of 90 days, but if you indicate that you want to stay for one month, the e-Visa issued will only allow you to stay for one month.

Can I renew my visa in Tanzania?

Yes you can extend your visa at the immigration office.

How many times can I enter Tanzania with the same visa?

The visa for Tanzania is valid for one entry only.

Do I need a visa if I transit through Tanzania?

If you are in transit and wish to leave the airport, you will need a visa. The transit visa allows you to stay up to 6 days in Tanzania. You will need to be in possession of an airline ticket to a third country. Please contact the embassy for this type of visa.

What are the eligible entry points for the Tanzania e-Visa?

Air entry points are Dar es Salaam, Kilimanjaro and Zanzibar international airports. By land, you can arrive via Namanga or Tunduma.

If I arrive by land or sea do I need a visa?

You can apply for a visa at the following airports: Dar es Salaam, Zanzibar and Kilimanjaro. By sea, the ports of entry are Dar es Salaam, Kigoma and Zanzibar.

Do minors need a visa to travel to Tanzania?

Yes, all travelers need a visa if they are one of the nationalities requiring one. Only a few nationalities, most of which are in Southeast Africa, are exempt from visa requirements for Tanzania.

What do I do if my visa for Tanzania is denied?

You must contact the embassy or consulate for the exact reason.

My nationality is not in the list to apply for a Tanzania visa, what should I do?

In this case, you must contact the consulate or embassy to request a classic visa.

What documents do I need to apply for a visa to Tanzania or Zanzibar?

You need a copy of your passport valid for six months after arrival in Tanzania, a passport photo and the return flight ticket that proves that you will be leaving the Tanzanian territory.

Can I go to Zanzibar with a visa for Tanzania?

Zanzibar is an island that belongs to Tanzania. As passport control is only done when entering a country, there is no different procedure between Tanzania and Zanzibar. The e-Visa allows you to visit Tanzania Island (Zanzibar) or Mainland, without any worries.

Can I apply for my visa on arrival in Tanzania?

Yes, you can apply for a visa upon arrival regardless of the point of entry (air, sea or land). In the context of a pandemic, it is strongly recommended to apply in advance, on the Internet.

How long does it take to get a Tanzanian visa?

It takes a few days for the Tanzanian authorities to issue a visa.

How long does my passport need to be valid to go to Tanzania?

Your passport must be valid for six months from the date of your entry into the country.

My dates of stay have changed, do I need to reapply for a visa?

It is preferable to reissue a visa, since once issued the visa will adapt to your dates of stay.

I am going to do humanitarian work in Tanzania, do I need a special visa?

You will need to apply for a humanitarian visa, and in this case you will need a copy of your passport, a passport photo, your return flight ticket, a letter of invitation from the association you are traveling with, as well as its registration certificate(NGO's Registration Certificates).

I made a mistake in my application, is it possible to change the visa?

Once the visa has been issued, it is not possible to modify it.

Do I need to print my visa before going to Tanzania?

Yes, it is strongly recommended to print your visa before your departure.

Do I need a visa if I go to Kenya?

Yes, if you are making a detour to Kenya from Tanzania, you will need a visa to enter Kenya. European citizens need a visa to enter Kenya, whether it is for a tourist stay or for another type of stay.

What is the difference between Tanzania and Zanzibar?

Tanzania mainland is a country in East Africa, while Zanzibar is a semi-autonomous island of Tanzania. Both territories form the United Republic of Tanzania.

Tanzania: mandatory and recommended vaccines

Mandatory vaccines

  • Yellow fever: A certificate is required for travellers over one year old from countries where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission and for travellers who have been in transit through an airport in a country where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission for more than 12 hours.

Recommended vaccines

  • Hepatitis A
  • Hepatitis B: For long or repeated stays
  • Malaria: Year-round transmission throughout the country.
  • Meningitis: In the event of prolonged stays in close contact with the local population, or during epidemics.
  • Rabies: In case of prolonged stay in isolation
  • Typhoid fever: In case of prolonged stay or in precarious hygiene conditions

Tanzania: Covid-19 travel restrictions

Information updated on 15/02/2024
In a nutshell:
  • This country does not require amedical examination upon arrival
  • No PCR test is required by this country (but may be required by the airline)
  • No health pass is required by this country
  • This country does not require Covid-19 vaccination for incoming travelers
  • No quarantine is required upon arrival in this country
  • No health form is required to go to this country

e-Visa Tanzanie 🇹🇿

Tanzanie continentale & Zanzibar

L’e-Visa est valable pour les voyages touristiques ou affaires (90 jours maximum et 1 entrée par personne). Les voyageurs doivent être titulaires d’un passeport d’une durée de validité d’au moins 6 mois à la date d’arrivée en Tanzanie. Une fois délivré, vous devez entrer en Tanzanie avec l’autorisation dans les 90 jours. Le délai de validité du visa commencera alors à partir de votre arrivée dans le pays, et non à l’édition de l’autorisation.

Vous pouvez entrer en Tanzanie par l’un de ces 5 lieux : Aéroport Julius Nyerere (Dar es Salaam), Aéroport Kilimanjaro, Aéroport Abeid Amani Karume (Zanzibar), frontière Namanga (Kenya) ou frontière Tunduma (Zambie). Vous n’avez pas besoin de connaître quelqu’un en Tanzanie pour effectuer la démarche. Vous devez être en dehors du pays au moment d’effectuer la demande et posséder un moyen de quitter le pays (billet d’avion retour, etc).

Tout se passe entièrement en ligne, vous n’avez rien à envoyer par courrier et vous n’avez pas à vous déplacer. La photocopie du passeport, la photo d’identité et le billet d’avion seront à envoyer une fois le formulaire rempli. L’accord se matérialise par la réception d’un fichier PDF qu’il faudra imprimer en couleur et présenter à l’embarquement et à l’arrivée en Tanzanie.

Commencer une demande de e-Visa Tanzanie

Tarif unique de 39 € par voyageur
Hors frais consulaires, si applicables


Questions fréquentes à propos du e-Visa Tanzanie

Située en Afrique de l’Est, la Tanzanie, ou République Unie de la Tanzanie, est un pays réputé pour ses grandes régions sauvages encore préservées du tourisme de masse. En vous rendant en Tanzanie vous pourrez notamment découvrir les fameux ‘‘big five’’ : des éléphants, des lions, des léopards, des buffles ou encore des rhinocéros. La Tanzanie est souvent surnommée la perle de l’Afrique en raison d’une biodiversité exceptionnelle. Si la Tanzanie vous laisse rêveur, réalisez dès maintenant votre demande de visa en ligne sur notre site.

De juin à octobre, profitez de la saison sèche et d’un climat tempéré pour vos safaris et vos baignades en Tanzanie. Évitez au contraire l’affluence touristique en vous rendant en Tanzanie en dehors des vacances estivales et de la période des fêtes de fin d’année.

Depuis 2018, le gouvernement tanzanien a mis en place un visa électronique qui permet de visiter la Tanzanie continentale et l’île de Zanzibar dans le cadre d’un voyage d’affaires ou du tourisme privé.

En tant que ressortissant français, suisse, belge, ou autre nationalité éligible, découvrez les modalités d’obtention d’un visa tourisme et volontariat ou business pour un séjour d’une durée de 90 jours maximum sur le territoire tanzanien.

Voyagez en Tanzanie avec un visa électronique : démarches et délais

Que vous apparteniez à la catégorie des voyageurs d’affaires ou à celle des voyageurs loisirs, la préparation de votre voyage en Tanzanie passe par l’obtention d’un visa adapté au motif de votre séjour à l’étranger, après l’achat de vos billets d’avion. Avant de vous lancer dans une demande de visa, assurez-vous d’abord de la validité de votre passeport. Votre titre d’identité doit être valide au moins 6 mois après votre date d’arrivée à destination pour obtenir un e-visa pour la Tanzanie.

Le visa électronique pour la Tanzanie s’adresse à plus de 100 nationalités différentes, y compris aux ressortissants français, belges et suisses.

Confiez alors votre demande de visa électronique pour la Tanzanie à Visamundi, agence spécialisée dans les documents de voyage des particuliers et des professionnels. Il vous suffit de nous fournir une photocopie de votre passeport, une photo d’identité et vos billets d’avion aller et retour depuis notre formulaire en ligne, après avoir renseigné la raison de votre séjour en Tanzanie ainsi que vos dates d’arrivée et de départ. Si vous voyagez en Tanzanie dans un but professionnel ou humanitaire, une lettre d’invitation vous sera également demandée. Nous nous occuperons ensuite du reste des démarches liées à votre demande d’e-visa pour la Tanzanie.

Avec Visamundi, faites le choix de la simplicité et de l’efficacité. Notre équipe vérifiera attentivement la conformité de vos documents et obtiendra une réponse des autorités concernant votre demande de visa en 5 jours en moyenne. Effectuez donc votre demande sur notre site au moins 5 jours avant votre date d’arrivée en Tanzanie pour organiser sereinement votre départ, y compris un départ relativement urgent. Nous traitons aussi les demandes groupées pour faciliter au mieux votre départ en famille, entre amis ou dans un cadre professionnel.

Avec notre démarche de demande de visa électronique en ligne, vous n’avez pas besoin de connaître quelqu’un sur place pour vous procurer un visa pour la Tanzanie. En revanche, vous devez impérativement vous trouver dans un pays autre que la Tanzanie lorsque vous effectuez votre demande, ne pas être en possession d’un visa résident tanzanien et posséder un moyen de quitter le pays une fois sur place, à savoir un billet d’avion retour. Si votre situation correspond à l’ensemble de ces critères, nous vous invitons sans plus attendre à réaliser votre demande de e-visa auprès de notre agence expérimentée.

Une fois délivré, votre visa électronique pour la Tanzanie sera valide pour une durée de 90 jours maximum, à compter de votre arrivée dans le pays. Attention, les autorités locales peuvent réduire la durée de validité en fonction des informations que vous fournissez. Vous recevrez le visa sous format électronique et devrez alors l’imprimer en couleurs afin de le présenter aux autorités compétentes à votre arrivée en Tanzanie. L’autorisation de séjour ne sera cependant valide que pour une arrivée en Tanzanie dans les 90 jours suivant sa délivrance, c’est pourquoi il s’avère inutile, voire contreproductif, de trop anticiper votre demande d’e-visa une fois vos vols aller et retour réservés.

Grâce au visa électronique pour la Tanzanie, préparez votre voyage en ligne sans avoir besoin de vous déplacer en ambassade. Simplifiée par rapport à une demande de visa classique, la démarche en ligne permet également d’obtenir un visa dans un délai plus court. Attention néanmoins, le e-visa pour la Tanzanie est valable uniquement depuis 3 aéroports : l’aéroport Julius Nyerere (Dar es Salaam), l’aéroport Kilimandjaro et l’aéroport Abeid Amani Karume de Kisauni (Zanzibar), et 2 frontières terrestres : Namanga et Tunduma. Si vous arrivez par voie maritime ou depuis une autre frontière sur le sol tanzanien, nous vous invitons à demander un visa classique auprès de l’ambassade de Tanzanie ou à votre port d’arrivée.

Quel est le prix d’un visa pour la Tanzanie ?

Les frais consulaires pour un visa pour la Tanzanie commencent à 46 € par voyageur, hors frais de service.

Visamundi assure ses prestations d’obtention de visas électroniques pour la Tanzanie en toute transparence. Dès 46 € de frais consulaires par voyageur, il est alors possible de se rendre en Tanzanie avec un e-Visa valide grâce aux services de notre agence. Pour un séjour d’une durée inférieure ou égale à 90 jours, vous devez aussi obtenir un visa électronique tourisme et volontariat. Pour un visa business en revanche, comptez 230 € de frais consulaires par voyageur.

En cas de refus d’émission de votre visa électronique pour la Tanzanie par les autorités compétentes, Visamundi s’engage à vous rembourser l’intégralité des frais engagés pour les démarches liées à votre demande d’e-visa. Choisissez ainsi la sécurité financière en faisant confiance à notre équipe lors de la préparation de votre séjour professionnel ou touristique en Tanzanie. Nous sommes à l’écoute de vos demandes d’informations par téléphone et courriel et via le chat en ligne disponible sur notre site.

Combien de temps est valable le visa pour la Tanzanie ?

L’e-Visa émis va s’adapter aux dates de séjour que vous aurez indiquées dans le formulaire. Il permet de rester un maximum de 90 jours sur place mais si vous indiquez vouloir rester un mois, l’e-Visa émis vous autorisera seulement une durée d’un mois.

Puis-je renouveler mon visa en Tanzanie ?

Oui vous pouvez prolonger votre visa auprès du bureau de l’immigration.

Combien de fois puis-je entrer en Tanzanie avec le même visa ?

Le visa pour la Tanzanie est valable pour une seule entrée uniquement.

Ais-je besoin d’un visa si je transite par la Tanzanie ?

Dans le cas où vous faites un transit et que vous souhaitez sortir de l’aéroport, il vous faudra un visa. Le visa transit vous permet de rester jusqu’à 6 jours sur le territoire tanzanien. Il vous faudra obligatoirement être en possession d’un billet d’avion vers un troisième pays. Veuillez vous rapprocher de l’ambassade pour ce type de visa.

Quels sont les points d’entrée éligibles au e-Visa Tanzanie ?

Les points d’entrée par voie aérienne sont les aéroports internationaux de Dar es Salaam, Kilimandjaro et Zanzibar. Par voie terrestre, vous pouvez arriver par Namanga ou Tunduma.

Si j’arrive pas voie terrestre ou maritime ai-je besoin d’un visa ?

Vous pouvez demander le visa aux aéroports suivants : Dar es Salaam, Zanzibar et Kilimandjaro. Par voie maritime, les points d’entrée seront les ports de Dar es Salaam, Kigoma et de Zanzibar.

Les mineurs ont-ils besoin d’un visa pour voyager en Tanzanie ?

Oui tous les voyageurs ont besoin d’un visa s’ils font partie des nationalités en nécessitant. Seules quelques nationalités, dont la plupart dans le sud-est de l’Afrique, sont exemptées de visa pour la Tanzanie.

Comment faire si mon visa pour la Tanzanie est refusé ?

Vous devez contacter l’ambassade ou le consulat pour la raison exacte.

Ma nationalité n’est pas dans la liste pour demander un visa Tanzanie, que faire ?

Dans ce cas, il faut contacter le consulat ou l’ambassade pour demander un visa classique.

Quels sont les documents nécessaires pour faire la demande de visa pour la Tanzanie ou Zanzibar ?

Il faut la copie de votre passeport valide six mois après l’arrivée en Tanzanie, une photo d’identité et le billet d’avion retour qui prouve que vous allez quitter le territoire tanzanien.

Puis-je aller à Zanzibar avec un visa pour la Tanzanie ?

Zanzibar est une île qui appartient à la Tanzanie. Le contrôle des passeports ne se faisant qu’à l’entrée dans un pays, il n’y a pas de démarche différente entre la Tanzanie et Zanzibar. L’e-Visa vous permet de visiter la Tanzanie insulaire (Zanzibar) ou Continentale, sans aucun soucis.

Puis-je demander mon visa à l'arrivée en Tanzanie ?

Oui, vous pouvez demander le visa à votre arrivée peu importe le point d’entrée (aérien, maritime ou terrestre). Dans le contexte de pandémie, il est fortement recommandé de vous y prendre en avance, sur Internet.

Le visa tanzanien est-il long à obtenir ?

Il faut quelques jours aux autorités Tanzaniennes pour éditer un visa.

Combien de temps mon passeport doit-être valide pour aller en Tanzanie ?

Votre passeport doit être valide six mois à partir de votre entrée sur le territoire.

Mes dates de séjours ont changé, dois-je refaire un visa ?

Il est préférable de refaire un visa, étant donné qu’une fois édité le visa s’adapte à vos dates de séjour.

Je vais faire de l’humanitaire en Tanzanie, ai-je besoin d’un visa spécial ?

Il faudra demander un visa humanitaire, et dans ce cas il vous faudra la copie de votre passeport, une photo d’identité, votre billet d’avion retour, une lettre d’invitation de l’association avec laquelle vous allez voyager ainsi que le certificat enregistrement de celle-ci (NGO’s Registration Certificates).

J’ai fait une erreur dans ma demande, est-il possible de modifier le visa ?

Une fois le visa édité il n’est pas possible de modifier ce dernier.

Dois-je imprimer mon visa avant d'aller en Tanzanie ?

Oui, il est fortement conseillé d’imprimer votre visa avant votre départ.

Faut-il un visa si je fais un crochet par le Kenya ?

Oui, si vous faites un crochet par le Kenya depuis la Tanzanie, vous aurez besoin d’un visa pour entrer au Kenya. Les citoyens européens ont besoin d’un visa pour entrer au Kenya, que ce soit pour un séjour touristique ou pour un autre type de séjour.

Quelle est la différence entre la Tanzanie et Zanzibar ?

La Tanzanie continentale est un pays d’Afrique de l’Est, tandis que Zanzibar est une île semi-autonome de la Tanzanie. Les deux territoires forment bien la République-unie de Tanzanie.

Tanzanie : les vaccins obligatoires et recommandés

Les vaccins obligatoires

  • Fièvre jaune : Un certificat est requis pour les voyageurs de plus d'un an de pays où il existe un risque de transmission de fièvre jaune et pour les voyageurs qui sont en transit dans un aéroport dans un pays où il y a un risque de transmission de fièvre jaune depuis plus de 12 heures .

Les vaccins recommandés

  • Hépatite A
  • Hépatite B : Pour des séjours longs ou répétés
  • Paludisme : Transmission toute l'année dans tout le pays.
  • Méningite : En cas de séjour prolongé en contact étroit avec la population locale, ou en période d'épidémie
  • Rage : En cas de séjour prolongé isolément
  • Fièvre typhoïde : En Cas de Séjour prolongé ou dans les conditions d’hygiène Précaires

Tanzanie : les restrictions Covid-19 pour voyager

Informations à jour en date du 15/02/2024
En résumé :
  • Ce pays n'impose pas d'examen médical à l'arrivée
  • Aucun test PCR n'est demandé par ce pays (mais peut l'être par la compagnie aérienne)
  • Aucun pass sanitaire n'est demandé par ce pays
  • Ce pays ne demande pas de vaccination Covid-19 à ses voyageurs entrants
  • Aucune quarantaine n'est nécessaire à l'arrivée dans ce pays
  • Aucun formulaire de santé n'est demandé pour aller dans ce pays