e-Visa Ethiopia 🇪🇹

Tourism only

Since June 2018, all foreign travelers to Ethiopia can apply for a visa online. The General Department of Immigration manages and will issue the e-Visa. This platform can only provide single-entry visas. Visitors wishing a multi-entry visa must apply for it at the nearest Ethiopian embassy.

The Ethiopia e-Tourism Visa, available for stays of up to 30 or 90 days, is accessible to many nationalities. This electronic visa, valid from the date of issue, allows travelers to stay in Ethiopia for the duration indicated, offering a convenient option for tourism.

The average turnaround time is 72 hours. The traveler receives a confirmation email as soon as the application is registered and approved, allowing him or her to travel to Ethiopia. On arrival, the passport will be stamped.

How to apply for an e-Visa Ethiopia

Single rate of 39 € per passenger
Excluding consular fees, if applicable


Frequently asked questions about Ethiopia e-Visa

Many tourist destinations, whatever the continent, require a visa if you hope to gain access. Issued by the competent authorities of the country you wish to visit, a visa is a document (generally subject to a fee) certifying that you are authorized to travel to a foreign country for a specified period, rarely exceeding 90 days. Depending on the country you wish to visit, you may need to apply for a visa, except in European Union countries, where no visa is required if you are a French national. However, if you wish to travel to Ethiopia, you will be required to apply for a visa before your departure, either by sending the application form by post to the Ethiopian Embassy in Paris, or by applying for a visa for Ethiopia online. If the latter option appeals to you because of the convenience it offers, Visamundi can help you apply for a visa to Ethiopia by enabling you to fill in an electronic visa application form.

Who needs to apply for a visa to Ethiopia?

All visitors to Ethiopia are required to apply for a visa, with the exception of nationals of neighboring Djibouti and Kenya. Nationals of African Union states can benefit from a visa procedure, provided they have made their request in advance via an authorized platform. Nationals of other countries, notably those of the European Union, can also benefit from this visa procedure by completing the same procedure. Visitors in transit through Bole International airport are exempt from the visa requirement, but can apply for a transit visa at the Immigration Department office if they wish to leave the airport while awaiting their next flight.

If you are a French national, you can also benefit from the visa procedure offered by Ethiopian consular services.

You will need a passport valid for up to 6 months from the date of entry into Ethiopia. The online visa application for Ethiopia is valid only for entry into Ethiopia from Bole International airport. Finally, the validity of the e-visa begins on arrival in Ethiopia, not from the date of issue.

How do I apply for a visa for Ethiopia?

ethiopia visa

You can apply for a visa for Ethiopia either at the Ethiopian Embassy in France, or directly online via the official government website or Visamundi. To apply for a visa at theEmbassy of Ethiopia, you need to complete an application form (in duplicate) in block capitals and sign it. If you wish to submit your visa application to the Embassy by post, your letter must bear a tracking number issued by the postal service, and be accompanied by a completed and stamped return envelope for delivery of the desired visa.

For less burdensome procedures, since June 2018 you've been able to submit your visa application for Ethiopia electronically. Once you have completed your online visa application on an authorized platform, the General Immigration Department of Ethiopia will issue you a visa for a single entry, valid for 30 days or 90 days from the date of entry into Ethiopia. If you wish to obtain a visa to enter Ethiopia several times over a limited period, you will need to apply directly to the Ethiopian Embassy.

Apply for an electronic visa for Ethiopia on Visamundi

Visamundi offers you a customized support solution to help you apply for your Ethiopia visa online without any hassle. Clear and complete, our e-visa application form will make it considerably easier for you to obtain your e-visa for Ethiopia quickly. Using the tool we provide to fill in your online visa application form, you can first indicate the reason for your trip, whether it's a tourist or business trip in particular. This information, specified on the visa, will be taken into account by the competent authorities in Ethiopia. Then choose the type of e-visa you require, whether it's a 30-day or 90-day visa, bearing in mind that consular fees will be slightly higher for a 90-day visa. You'll also need to specify your date of arrival and departure to ensure that your visa application for Ethiopia is in order.

You will also be able to indicate on our visa application form the number of travelers to Ethiopia who need to be listed on the e-visa. You will be asked to provide your contact details (e-mail, cell phone, postal address) for invoicing purposes. The Visamundi rate includes the cost of the e-visa itself and our management service. Whatever the length of your stay in Ethiopia, whether you opt for a 30-day tourist visa or a 90-day tourist visa, you will need to provide a passport and passport photo to complete your file and finalize your visa application for Ethiopia. Once we have received your visa application, it will take 3 days for you to receive your electronic visa in the form of an e-mail from us. In accordance with our privacy policy, we are committed to protecting your personal data throughout the visa application process. This ensures that you benefit from a reliable and secure service, freeing you from the administrative burden of travel.

What types of electronic visas are available for Ethiopia?

There are 2 visas for Ethiopia: tourism and business.
The Ethiopia e-visa can have several validities: a 30-day e-visa and a 90-day e-visa, or even longer.

We only offer electronic tourist visas.

The business visa is valid for the following reasons:

  • Journalist Visa
  • Investment Visa
  • Government Institutions Short Task Visa
  • NGO Work Visa
  • Workshop/Conference Visa
  • Foreign Business Firm Employment Visa

How do I know if I need an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

Only citizens of Kenya and Djibouti are exempt from visa requirements for travel to Ethiopia for tourism. However, nationals of over 200 countries and territories can make a short stay in Ethiopia for tourism with an e-Visa.

What are the eligibility criteria for obtaining an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

Eligibility criteria include having an eligible nationality and a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Ethiopia.

How do I apply for an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

After checking your eligibility, you'll need to fill in an application form and send us your documents.

How long does it take to process an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

Visa processing takes between 24 and 72 hours.

How long is an e-Visa valid for Ethiopia?

An electronic Ethiopian visa can be valid from 30 to 90 days via our services.

Can I extend my e-Visa for Ethiopia?

Yes, it is possible to extend your visa, either with immigration at the airport or online with our services.

What documents do I need to apply for an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

For an Ethiopian e-Visa, you'll need a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Ethiopia, and a recent passport photo.

What is the procedure for renewing an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

You must wait until your previous visa expires before applying for a new one.

Can I change the information on my Ethiopia e-Visa application after I have submitted it?

Travelers are asked to confirm that all information provided is correct and accurate before submitting the visa form. However, we rely on passport information, so if you think you've made a mistake on any information not mentioned on your passport, please let us know by email or online chat.

Can I work in Ethiopia with an e-Visa?

In general, business visas are for trading, contracting and short assignments. If the work is regular, you will need to apply for a work visa with the local authorities.

Are consular fees for Ethiopia refundable if my application is refused?

Unfortunately, the consular fee remains payable, regardless of the outcome of your application.

Can I enter and leave Ethiopia several times with an e-Visa?

No, the Ethiopia visa is a single-entry electronic visa.

What are the health requirements for travellers applying for an e-Visa for Ethiopia?

Ethiopia requires yellow fever vaccination. Other vaccines are recommended depending on the type of stay.

How can I check the status of my e-Visa application for Ethiopia?

Just get in touch with the Visamundi team, and we'll keep you informed of the progress of your request. You'll find a "follow up" button on our dedicated websites, and we're available by email and online chat.

Can I apply for an e-Visa for Ethiopia if I already have a valid traditional visa?

No, you will have to wait for the current visa to expire before applying again.

Can I obtain a visa on arrival in Ethiopia?

Nationals eligible for e-Visa can obtain their Visa on arrival, especially if they arrive at a location other than Addis Ababa's Bole airport, the only entry point eligible for e-Visa. For the latter, e-Visa is strongly recommended to avoid the very long queues on arrival.

Ethiopia: mandatory and recommended vaccines

Mandatory vaccines

  • Yellow fever: A yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers over 9 months of age entering the country from countries where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission, and for travellers staying more than 12 hours in transit through an airport in a country where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission.

Recommended vaccines

  • Hepatitis A
  • Hepatitis B: For long or repeated stays
  • Malaria: In the event of an isolated prolonged stay
  • Meningitis: In the event of a prolonged stay in close contact with the local population, or during an epidemic.
  • Rabies: In case of prolonged stay in isolation
  • Typhoid fever: In case of prolonged stay or in precarious hygienic conditions

e-Visa Ethiopie 🇪🇹

Tourisme uniquement

Depuis juin 2018, tous les voyageurs étrangers en Ethiopie peuvent demander un visa en ligne. Le Département général de l’immigration gère et délivra l’e-Visa. Cette plateforme ne peut fournir que des visas à entrée. Le visiteur désirant un visa multi-entrées doit le demander à l’ambassade d’Éthiopie la plus proche.

L’e-Visa tourisme pour l’Éthiopie, disponible pour des séjours jusqu’à 30 ou 90 jours, est accessible à de nombreuses nationalités. Ce visa électronique, valable à partir de la date d’émission, permet aux voyageurs de séjourner en Éthiopie pour la durée indiquée, offrant ainsi une option pratique pour le tourisme.

Le délai de réception est de 72 heures en moyenne. Le voyageur reçoit un email de confirmation dès que la demande est enregistrée et approuvée, lui permettant de voyager en Éthiopie. À l’arrivée, son passeport sera visé.

Commencer une demande de e-Visa Ethiopie

Tarif unique de 39 € par voyageur
Hors frais consulaires, si applicables


Questions fréquentes à propos du e-Visa Ethiopie

De nombreuses destinations touristiques nécessitent, quel que soit le continent, de se munir d’un visa si l’on espère pouvoir y accéder. Délivré par les autorités compétentes du pays où l’on souhaite aller, le visa désigne un document (généralement payant) attestant que vous êtes autorisé à vous rendre dans un pays étranger pour une durée déterminée, excédant rarement les 90 jours. Selon le pays où vous souhaitez aller, il vous sera donc obligatoire d’effectuer une demande de visa, excepté dans les pays de l’Union Européenne où aucun visa n’est exigé si vous êtes un ressortissant français. Cependant, si vous souhaitez voyager en Éthiopie, il vous sera demandé de réaliser une demande de visa avant votre départ, soit en envoyant le formulaire de demande par courrier à l’Ambassade d’Éthiopie à Paris, soit en effectuant une demande de visa en ligne pour l’Éthiopie. Si cette dernière option retient votre attention par les commodités qu’elle offre, Visamundi peut vous accompagner dans votre demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie en vous permettant notamment de remplir un formulaire de demande de visa électronique.

Quels sont les visiteurs concernés par une demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie ?

Tous les visiteurs doivent effectuer une demande de visa pour se rendre en Éthiopie, à l’exception des ressortissants de Djibouti et du Kenya, qui sont des pays voisins. Les ressortissants des États de l’Union Africaine peuvent bénéficier d’une procédure de visa à condition d’avoir exprimé au préalable leur demande via une plateforme autorisée. Les ressortissants des autres États, et notamment des États de l’Union Européenne, peuvent également profiter de cette procédure de visa en effectuant la même démarche. Les visiteurs en situation de transit à l’aéroport de Bole International sont pour leur part dispensés de visa, mais peuvent néanmoins demander un visa de transit en se présentant au bureau du Département de l’Immigration s’ils souhaitent quitter l’aéroport dans l’attente de leur prochain vol.

Si vous êtes un ressortissant français, vous pourrez également bénéficier de la procédure de visa proposée par les services consulaires éthiopiens.

Vous devrez pour cela avoir en votre possession un passeport en cours de validité jusqu’à 6 mois à partir de la date d’entrée en Éthiopie. La demande de visa en ligne pour l’Éthiopie est valable uniquement pour les entrées sur le territoire éthiopien à partir de l’aéroport de Bole International. Enfin, la validité du visa électronique commence à l’arrivée en Éthiopie et non à partir de la date de délivrance du e-visa.

Comment effectuer une demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie ?

visa éthiopie

Une demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie s’effectue soit à l’Ambassade d’Éthiopie en France, soit directement en ligne via le site officiel des autorités ou les services de Visamundi. Pour effectuer une demande de visa auprès du service d’accueil de l’Ambassade d’Éthiopie, vous devez remplir en lettres capitales un formulaire d’application (en deux exemplaires) et le signer. Si vous souhaitez soumettre à l’Ambassade votre demande de visa par voie postale, votre courrier doit mentionner un numéro de suivi délivré par le service postal, et être accompagné d’une enveloppe de retour complétée et timbrée pour la remise du visa souhaité.

Pour des démarches moins contraignantes, vous avez la possibilité depuis juin 2018 de transmettre votre demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie par voie électronique. Une fois votre demande de visa en ligne effectuée sur une plateforme autorisée, le Département Général de l’Immigration d’Éthiopie vous délivrera un visa pour une entrée unique, valable 30 jours ou 90 jours à partir de la date d’entrée en Éthiopie. Si vous souhaitez obtenir un visa pour entrer plusieurs fois en Éthiopie sur une période limitée, vous devrez faire votre demande directement à l’Ambassade d’Éthiopie.

Effectuer une demande de visa électronique pour l’Éthiopie sur Visamundi

Visamundi vous propose une solution d’accompagnement adaptée pour vous permettre d’effectuer sans contraintes votre demande de visa en ligne pour l’Éthiopie. Clair et complet, notre formulaire de demande de visa électronique vous permettra de faciliter considérablement vos démarches pour obtenir rapidement votre e-visa pour l’Éthiopie. Via l’outil que nous vous proposons pour remplir votre formulaire de demande de visa en ligne, vous pourrez tout d’abord indiquer la raison de votre voyage, si c’est un voyage touristique ou d’affaires notamment. Précisée sur le visa, cette indication sera prise en compte par les autorités compétentes en Éthiopie. Choisissez ensuite le type de visa électronique souhaité, s’il s’agit d’un visa de 30 jours ou de 90 jours, en sachant que les frais consulaires seront légèrement supérieurs pour un visa de 90 jours. Il vous sera également nécessaire de préciser votre date d’arrivée et votre date de départ pour que votre demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie soit en règle.

Vous aurez par ailleurs la possibilité d’indiquer sur notre formulaire de demande de visa le nombre de voyageurs se rendant en Éthiopie et nécessitant d’être mentionnés sur le visa électronique. Concernant la facturation, il vous sera demandé de préciser vos coordonnées (e-mail, téléphone portable, adresse postale) pour la remise de la facture. Le tarif Visamundi comprend notamment le coût du visa électronique en lui-même et le prix de notre service de gestion. Quelle que soit la durée de votre séjour en Éthiopie, que vous optiez pour un visa touristique de 30 jours ou pour un visa touristique de 90 jours, vous devrez fournir un passeport et une photo d’identité pour compléter votre dossier et finaliser votre demande de visa pour l’Éthiopie. Une fois votre demande de visa effectuée et transmise à nos services, il faudra compter un délai de 3 jours pour que vous puissiez obtenir votre visa électronique sous la forme d’un mail que nous vous transmettrons. Nous nous engageons par ailleurs, conformément à notre politique de confidentialité, à garantir la protection de vos données personnelles tout au long de la réalisation de votre demande de visa. Vous serez ainsi assuré de bénéficier d’un service fiable et sécurisé, propre à vous libérer des contraintes administratives liées aux voyages.

Quels sont les types de visas électroniques disponibles pour l'Éthiopie ?

Il existe 2 visas pour l’Ethiopie : tourisme et business.
Le visa électronique Ethiopie peut posséder plusieurs validités : un e-visa de 30 jours et un e-visa de 90 jours, voire plus.

Nous ne proposons que le visa électronique de tourisme.

Le visa business est valable pour les motifs suivants :

  • Journalist Visa
  • Investment Visa
  • Government Institutions Short Task Visa
  • NGO Work Visa
  • Workshop/Conference Visa
  • Foreign Business Firm Employment Visa

Comment puis-je savoir si j'ai besoin d'un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Seuls les citoyens du Kenya et de Djibouti sont exemptés de visa pour voyager en Éthiopie à des fins touristiques. Cependant, les ressortissants de plus de 200 pays et territoires peuvent effectuer un court séjour en Éthiopie pour le tourisme avec un e-Visa.

Quels sont les critères d'éligibilité pour obtenir un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Les critère d’éligibilité sont : avoir une nationalité éligible et avoir un passeport valide au moins 6 mois à compter de la date d’entrée en Éthiopie.

Comment faire une demande d'e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Après avoir vérifié votre éligibilité, vous devrez remplir un formulaire de demande et nous faire parvenir vos documents.

Quels sont les délais de traitement pour un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Le délai de traitement des visas est de 24 à 72h.

Quelle est la durée de validité d'un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Un visa électronique éthiopien peut être valable de 30 à 90 jours via nos services.

Est-ce que je peux prolonger mon e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Oui, il est tout à fait possible de prolonger son visa, auprès de l’immigration à l’aéroport ou en ligne auprès de nos services.

Quels sont les documents nécessaires pour faire une demande d'e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Pour un e-Visa éthiopien, il vous faudra un passeport valide au moins 6 mois à compter de la date d’entrée en Éthiopie ainsi qu’une photo d’identité récente.

Quelle est la procédure pour renouveler un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Il faut attendre que le précédent visa expire avant de faire une nouvelle demande.

Est-ce que je peux modifier les informations de ma demande d'e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie après l'avoir soumise ?

Les voyageurs sont invités à confirmer que toutes les informations fournies sont correctes et exactes avant de soumettre le formulaire visa. Cependant, nous nous basons sur les informations du passeport, si vous pensez avoir fait une erreur sur une information non mentionnée sur votre passeport, n’hésitez pas à nous en informer par email ou chat en ligne.

Est-ce que je peux travailler en Éthiopie avec un e-Visa ?

En général, les visas “business” permettent la négoce ou l’établissement de contrat et les courtes missions. Si le travail est régulier, il faudra alors demander un visa de travail avec les autorités locales.

Est-ce que les frais consulaires pour l'Éthiopie sont remboursables en cas de refus de ma demande ?

Malheureusement, les frais consulaires restent dûs, peu importe l’issue de votre demande.

Est-ce que je peux sortir et entrer en Éthiopie plusieurs fois avec un e-Visa ?

Non, le visa Éthiopie est un visa électronique à entrée simple.

Quelles sont les exigences en matière de santé pour les voyageurs demandant un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

L’Ethiopie impose le vaccin fièvre jaune. ​​D’autres vaccins sont recommandés en fonction des modalités du séjour.

Comment est-ce que je peux vérifier l'état de ma demande d'e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie ?

Il suffit de prendre contact avec les équipes de Visamundi, nous vous tiendrons informés de l’état d’avancement de votre demande. Vous disposez d’un bouton “suivi” sur nos sites dédiés et nous sommes disponibles par email et chat en ligne.

Est-ce que je peux demander un e-Visa pour l'Éthiopie si j'ai déjà un visa traditionnel en cours de validité ?

Non, vous devrez attendre l’expiration du visa en cours avant de réaliser une nouvelle demande.

Puis-je obtenir un visa à l'arrivée en Éthiopie ?

Les nationalités éligibles au e-Visa peuvent obtenir leur Visa à l’arrivée, notamment s’ils arrivent par un autre endroit que l’aéroport Bole d’Addis-Abeba, seul point d’entrée habilité au e-Visa. Pour ce dernier endroit, l’e-Visa est fortement recommandé pour éviter les très longues files d’attente à l’arrivée.

Ethiopie : les vaccins obligatoires et recommandés

Les vaccins obligatoires

  • Fièvre jaune : Un certificat de vaccination contre la fièvre jaune est requis à l'entrée du pays, des voyageurs de plus de 9 mois venant de pays où il y a un risque de transmission de fièvre jaune et de voyageurs séjournant plus de 12 heures en transit dans un aéroport d'un pays où il y a un Risque de transmission de fièvre jaune.

Les vaccins recommandés

  • Hépatite A
  • Hépatite B : Pour des séjours longs ou répétés
  • Paludisme : En cas de séjour prolongé isolément
  • Méningite : En cas de séjour prolongé en contact étroit avec la population locale, ou pendant une épidémie
  • Rage : En cas de séjour prolongé isolément
  • Fièvre typhoïde : En cas de séjour prolongé ou dans des conditions hygiéniques précaires

Éthiopie : les restrictions Covid-19 pour voyager

Informations à jour en date du 15/02/2024
En résumé :
  • Ce pays n'impose pas d'examen médical à l'arrivée
  • Aucun test PCR n'est demandé par ce pays (mais peut l'être par la compagnie aérienne)
  • Aucun pass sanitaire n'est demandé par ce pays
  • Ce pays ne demande pas de vaccination Covid-19 à ses voyageurs entrants
  • Aucune quarantaine n'est nécessaire à l'arrivée dans ce pays
  • Aucun formulaire de santé n'est demandé pour aller dans ce pays