AVE Canada 🇨🇦

Tourism / Business / Transit

The AVE(Autorisation de Voyage Électronique) for Canada is a mandatory electronic document for citizens of visa-exempt countries traveling to Canada by air. It is similar to an electronic visa, and allows entry and stay in Canada for up to 6 consecutive months. It is valid for 5 years, or until the associated passport expires. It can be used for tourism or business stays, or for transit through Canada. It is preferable to obtain an AVE before booking a flight to Canada.

Scrupulously fill in the information requested by the Canadian authorities. Once payment has been made, send the photocopy of the passport to a secure area to cross-check the information and maximize your chances of obtaining the AVE. Most applicants receive approval within minutes. However, some applications may take several days to process, depending solely on the criteria of the Canadian authorities.

Start an AVE Canada application

Single rate of 29 € per passenger
Excluding consular fees, if applicable


Frequently asked questions about AVE Canada

Since the end of 2016, European, Australian and other eligible nationalities can travel to Canada without a visa, for a tourist or business trip of up to 6 months. In return, this visa exemption requires an electronic travel authorization (AVE)equivalent toESTA for the USA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization).

This authorization, electronically linked to the beneficiary's biometric passport, can be requested directly online via our services. You won't need to go to the Canadian consulate in your country of residence to obtain your Canadian e-visa.

Do I need a visa to go to Canada?

The ETA for Canada is mainly intended for European nationals, although other nationalities can also apply. A partnership has been set up between Canada and the Schengen area to enable Canadians to travel to the Schengen zone with a valid passport. In exchange, European nationals can enter Canada without a visa. If this is your case, all you need to do is present an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to the Canadian authorities when you arrive in Canada.

Often mistakenly referred to as an e-Visa, the Canadian AVE is electronically linked to your biometric passport. You must therefore ensure that your your passport must still be valid at least 6 months after the date of your departure from Canada. The AVE for Canada is valid for 5 yearsand will enable you to several stays of up to 6 months in Canada. However, if the validity date of your passport expires between your various stays in Canada, you will need to apply for a new Canadian e-visa.

The Canadian AVE is mandatory for tourist or business stays of less than 6 months in Canada, but also for transiting the international zone of a Canadian airport for a few hours. It is also mandatory for minors, under the same conditions as for adults(consular fees to be paid, data to be transmitted).

However, the AVE for Canada only applies to air travellers. If you arrive in Canada by boat, you won't need a Canadian e-visa for a short-term tourist stay. You must, however, be a national of an AVE-eligible country.

To apply for a Canadian ETA, you must be a national of one of the following countries: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, United Arab Emirates, United States (lawful permanent residents), Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Singapore, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom and United Arab Emirates.

What types of visas are available to enter Canada?

If you do not hold a European passport, or if you are a European national and wish to stay in Canada for more than 6 months (for work or study), you will not be eligible for the AVE. You'll need to apply for a regular Canada visa, to be attached to your passport, from the Canadian embassy in your country of residence. The different types of visa for entering Canada are as follows:

  • Work visa ;
  • Visa for studies ;
  • Transit visa ;
  • Tourist visa ;
  • Business visa.

What documents do I need to obtain a Canadian AVE?

The only way to obtain a Canadian AVE is to apply online. The application process is completely paperless. You won't have to go to an embassy to obtain your AVE for Canada.

You can apply for a Canadian e-visa by filling in the application form provided. Before you do so, please make sure you have the following supporting documents, the only ones required to finalize your application:

  • A scan of your passport's identity page with at least 2 blank pages, valid for the duration of your stay in Canada.

To complete the application form, you will need to enter the following information, most of which corresponds to the data already on your biometric passport:

  • Information about your civil status (surname, first name, date of birth, marital status, nationality);
  • Information about your stay in Canada (if you have already applied for an AVE or a visa to travel to Canada, your previous visa number, if applicable) ;
  • Information about your employment status (job, name and address of employer, years of seniority).

All this information is required to finalize your Canadian e-visa application. We will then forward your application form to the Canadian authorities, so that you can receive your AVE as soon as possible.

How much does an ETA cost for Canada?

The Canadian ETA is offered at an affordable price compared to the cost of a conventional visa for Canada. The cost of the Canadian ETA depends mainly on the consular fees charged by the Canadian government. In addition to these consular fees (around €5), we charge a service fee for processing your file (checking supporting documents, entering the application online) and transmitting it to the Canadian authorities (follow-up and management). You should therefore expect to pay around €35 to obtain your Canadian AVE.

red and white flag under blue sky during daytimeHow long does it take to obtain an AVE for Canada?

The time it takes to obtain a Canadian ETA depends on how long it takes the Canadian immigration authorities to process your application. This time is generally very short, as the entire procedure is paperless. Under normal processing conditions, you can obtain your Canadian ETA in just 48 hours. However, processing time may be longer if your application is received on a weekend or public holiday. We therefore advise you to apply for your Canadian ETA at least one week before your actual arrival in the country.

Can I extend my stay in Canada with an AVE?

You can extend your stay in Canada directly with the Canadian authorities. However, we recommend that you contact the relevant authorities at least 30 days before your AVE expires.

I can't find my AVE number. What should I do?

If the request was not made via our services, you can retrieve your AVE from the official website, in the "Check the status of your AVE" section. As a reminder, the AVE is only sent by e-mail when the request is made.

Can I travel without my printed AVE electronic travel authorization?

All your data is recorded electronically and linked to your passport. If you lose the document on departure, the ave can normally be recovered by the authorities. However, it is advisable to embark with your document in electronic format, or to print it out.

What are the requirements for applying for an AVE?

You must travel with an ordinary passport valid for the duration of your stay. Your nationality must also be eligible. The list of eligible nationalities can be viewed on our "Traveler" form.

What information do I need to provide when applying for an AVE?

You must provide your passport photo so that we can match the data and avoid mistakes. In addition to your personal details, you will be asked to provide information about your employment.

How long will it take to process my AVE application?

Processing time is 48 hours for urgent departures. If you make your request well in advance, you still have the option of requesting your AVE "as soon as possible" or "as close as possible to the date of arrival".

How long can I stay in France with an AVE?

You can stay in Canada up to a maximum of 180 days per stay, for as long as your AVE is valid. This is not specific to the document, but depends on the visa waiver program associated with the traveler's nationality.

For what reasons can I apply for an AVE?

The AVE can be requested for tourist, business or transit purposes.

Is this AVE travel authorization required to travel to Canada?

You will be asked for your AVE before you even arrive in Canada. Your airline will check your AVE before you board. You will also need to present this document to Canadian immigration before entering the country. It is therefore essential to apply before departure to be authorized to travel.

How long is my AVE valid for?

The AVE is valid for 5 years from the date of issue. Please note that your passport must be valid until the expiry date of your AVE. If it is not, you will need to apply for a new AVE.

I'm in transit in Canada. Do I need to apply for an AVE?

An AVE application is required for transit through Canada.

Am I guaranteed to enter Canada with my travel authorization?

Like any other electronic travel authorization, the authorities give you the right to enter the country subject to the decision of the immigration officer in the country concerned. Most of the time, you'll be asked a series of questions about the length of your stay, your planned visits and travel plans...

Which nationalities are exempt from AVE?

Many types of travelers are exempt from the AVE requirement, including cabin crew and aviators, Americans and travelers with valid Canadian visas, or those whose nationality is exempt from the transit visa requirement. If you have any doubts, don't hesitate to contact us by chat or e-mail.

I'd like to study or work in Canada. What do I need to do?

If your application is for study or paid employment, you need to contact an embassy to apply for a visa.

Do I need to check the validity of my passport before leaving for Canada?

You must travel with a passport that is valid for the duration of your stay. Your passport must be biometric and ordinary. Our agency does not accept identity cards, emergency passports, diplomatic passports, residency cards or residence permits.

Is travel insurance mandatory for Canada?

Travel insurance is not mandatory. However, you should bear in mind that medical costs are quite high in North America. It is therefore advisable to insure your stay. We recommend a partner who is a reference in travel insurance.

I'm on a cruise. Can I enter the country with an AVE?

You won't be able to enter with an AVE by sea; a visa must be applied for at an embassy before departure. Please ask your cruise line for details.

Can I enter Canada more than once with an AVE?

The AVE is a multi-entry travel authorization that can be used for up to 5 years, subject to a maximum stay of 180 days.

Can I get to Canada by land or sea from the USA?

The AVE is only for entry by air.

Can I apply for an AVE for several travellers?

On our form, you can complete a single request and enter several travellers. You will then receive an AVE for each traveler. The AVE will be composed of the personal data of a single traveler.

AVE Canada 🇨🇦

Tourisme / Business / Transit

L’AVE (Autorisation de Voyage Électronique) pour le Canada est un document électronique obligatoire pour les citoyens des pays dispensés de visa qui se rendent au Canada par voie aérienne. Elle est semblable à un visa électronique et permet d’entrer et de séjourner au Canada pour une période maximale de 6 mois consécutifs. Il est valide 5 ans, ou jusqu’à expiration du passeport associé. Il permet des séjours tourisme ou business, ou de transiter par le Canada. Il est préférable d’obtenir l’AVE avant de réserver un vol pour le Canada.

Remplissez scrupuleusement les informations demandées par les autorités canadiennes. Une fois le paiement effectué, envoyez la photocopie de passeport sur un espace sécurisé afin de recouper les informations et maximiser vos chances d’obtenir l’AVE. La plupart des demandeurs reçoivent l’approbation en quelques minutes. Cependant, le traitement de certaines demandes peut prendre plusieurs jours selon les seuls critères des autorités canadiennes.

Commencer une demande de AVE Canada

Tarif unique de 29 € par voyageur
Hors frais consulaires, si applicables


Questions fréquentes à propos du AVE Canada

Depuis fin 2016, les ressortissants européens, australiens et des autres nationalités éligibles peuvent se rendre au Canada sans visa, pour un voyage touristique ou d’affaires d’une durée maximale de 6 mois. Cette exemption de visa implique en contrepartie la possession d’une autorisation électronique de voyage (AVE), équivalente à l’ESTA pour les USA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization).

Cette autorisation, liée électroniquement au passeport biométrique des bénéficiaires, peut se demander directement en ligne par l’intermédiaire de nos services. Vous n’aurez donc pas besoin de vous déplacer au consulat canadien de votre pays de résidence pour obtenir votre e-visa canadien.

Faut-il un visa pour aller au Canada ?

L’ETA pour le Canada s’adresse essentiellement aux ressortissants européens, même si d’autres nationalités peuvent en faire la demande. Un partenariat a été mis en place entre le Canada et l’Espace Schengen pour permettre aux Canadiens de se rendre en zone Schengen avec un simple passeport en cours de validité. En échange, les ressortissants européens peuvent entrer au Canada sans visa. Si c’est votre cas, il vous suffira de présenter une autorisation électronique de voyage (AVE ou ETA en anglais) aux autorités canadiennes lors de votre arrivée au Canada.

Souvent qualifié à tort d’e-Visa, l’AVE canadien est lié électroniquement à votre passeport biométrique. Vous devez donc vous assurer que votre passeport soit encore valable au moins 6 mois après la date de votre départ du Canada. L’AVE pour le Canada est valable 5 ans, et vous permettra d’effectuer plusieurs séjours de 6 mois maximum au Canada. Cependant, si la date de validité de votre passeport expire entre vos différents séjours au Canada, vous devrez effectuer une nouvelle demande d’e-visa canadien.

L’AVE canadien est obligatoire pour les séjours touristiques ou d’affaires de moins de 6 mois au Canada, mais également pour transiter en zone internationale d’un aéroport canadien pendant quelques heures. Il est également obligatoire pour les mineurs, aux mêmes conditions que pour les adultes (frais consulaires à régler, données à transmettre).

L’AVE pour le Canada ne concerne cependant que les voyageurs aériens. Si vous arrivez au Canada par bateau, vous n’aurez pas besoin d’e-visa canadien pour effectuer un séjour touristique de courte durée. Vous devez néanmoins être un ressortissant d’une nationalité éligible à l’AVE.

Pour effectuer une demande d’ETAcanadien, vous devez être ressortissant de l’un des pays suivants : Allemagne, Andorre, Australie, Autriche, Bahamas, Barbade, Belgique, Brunéi Darussalam, Chili, Chypre, Corée du Sud, Croatie, Danemark, Émirats arabes unis, Espagne, Estonie, État de la Cité du Vatican, États-Unis (résidents permanents légitimes), Finlande, France, Grèce, Hong-kong, Hongrie, îles Salomon, Irlande, Islande, Israël, Italie, Japon, Lettonie, Liechtenstein, Lituanie, Luxembourg, Malte, Mexique, Monaco, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Papouasie–Nouvelle-Guinée, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République tchèque, Royaume-Uni/Angleterre, Roumanie, Saint-Marin, Samoa, Singapour, Slovaquie, Slovénie, Suède, Suisse et Taïwan.

Quels sont les différents types de visas disponibles pour entrer au Canada ?

Si vous n’êtes pas titulaire d’un passeport européen, ou si vous êtes ressortissant européen et que vous souhaitez séjourner au Canada pour une durée supérieure à 6 mois (pour le travail ou les études), vous ne serez pas éligible à l’AVE. Vous devrez donc demander un visa Canada classique à joindre sur votre passeport, auprès de l’ambassade canadienne de votre pays de résidence. Les différents types de visas pour entrer au Canada sont les suivants :

  • Le visa pour le travail ;
  • Le visa pour les études ;
  • Le visa de transit ;
  • Le visa pour le tourisme ;
  • Le visa d’Affaires.

Quels documents dois-je présenter pour obtenir un AVE canadien ?

Le seul moyen d’obtenir l’AVE canadien est d’effectuer une procédure de demande en ligne. Les démarches d’obtention sont intégralement dématérialisées. Vous n’aurez donc pas à vous déplacer en ambassade pour obtenir votre AVE pour le Canada.

Vous pouvez faire votre demande d’e-visa canadien en remplissant le formulaire de demande que nous mettons à votre disposition. Assurez-vous auparavant d’avoir en votre possession la pièce justificative suivante, la seule qui soit nécessaire à la finalisation de la demande :

  • Un scan de la page d’identité de votre passeport comportant au moins 2 pages vierges, et valable tout au long de la durée de votre séjour au Canada.

Pour remplir le formulaire de demande, vous devrez saisir les informations suivantes, qui correspondent pour la plupart aux données figurant déjà sur votre passeport biométrique :

  • Les informations concernant votre état civil (nom, prénom, date de naissance, statut matrimonial, nationalité) ;
  • Les informations concernant votre séjour au Canada (si vous avez déjà demandé une AVE ou un visa pour voyager au Canada, votre précédent numéro de visa, le cas échéant) ;
  • Les informations concernant votre situation professionnelle (emploi, nom et adresse de l’employeur, années d’ancienneté).

Toutes ces informations sont nécessaires à la finalisation de votre demande d’e-visa canadien. Nous nous chargerons ensuite de transmettre votre formulaire de demande aux autorités canadiennes, afin que vous puissiez recevoir votre AVE dans les meilleurs délais.

Combien coûte un ETA pour le Canada ?

L’ETA canadien est proposé à un prix abordable en comparaison du tarif d’un visa classique pour le Canada. Le montant de l’AVE pour le Canada dépend principalement des frais consulaires qui sont appliqués par le gouvernement canadien. À ces frais consulaires (environ 5 €), s’ajoutent nos frais de service pour le traitement de votre dossier (vérification des justificatifs, saisie de la demande en ligne) et sa transmission aux autorités canadiennes (suivi et gestion). Comptez ainsi environ 35 € pour obtenir votre AVE canadien.

red and white flag under blue sky during daytimeQuel est le délai d’obtention d’un AVE pour le Canada ?

Le délai d’obtention d’un ETA canadien dépend du temps que mettront les services canadiens de l’immigration à traiter votre demande. Ce délai est généralement très court, dans la mesure où l’intégralité de la procédure est dématérialisée. Dans des conditions de traitement normales, vous pourrez obtenir votre ETA canadien en seulement 48 h. Le temps de traitement peut cependant s’allonger si votre demande est reçue en fin de semaine ou lors d’un jour férié. Nous vous conseillons donc d’effectuer votre demande d’AVE pour le Canada au moins une semaine avant votre arrivée effective dans le pays.

Puis-je prolonger mon séjour canadien avec l’AVE ?

Vous pourrez prolonger votre séjour canadien directement sur place, auprès des autorités canadiennes. Nous vous conseillons cependant de vous renseigner auprès des autorités concernées au moins 30 jours avant l’expiration de votre AVE.

Je ne retrouve pas mon numéro d’AVE, comment faire ?

Si la demande n’a pas été effectuée via nos services, vous pouvez retrouver votre AVE depuis le site officiel, dans la rubrique “vérifiez l’état de votre AVE”. Pour rappel, l’AVE est uniquement envoyé par mail lors de la demande.

Est-il possible de voyager sans mon autorisation de voyage électronique AVE imprimée ?

Toutes vos données sont inscrites électroniquement et elles sont liées à votre passeport. Si vous avez perdu le document lors de votre départ, l’ave peut normalement être retrouvé par les autorités. Cependant, il est conseillé d’embarquer avec votre document sous format électronique ou bien d’imprimer le document.

Quelles sont les conditions requises pour demander l’AVE ?

Vous devez voyager avec un passeport ordinaire valide pendant toute la durée de votre séjour. Votre nationalité doit également être éligible. La liste des nationalités éligibles est visible depuis notre formulaire “voyageur”.

Quelles informations je dois fournir lors de ma demande d'AVE ?

Vous devez fournir la photo de votre passeport pour qu’on puisse confondre les données et éviter les erreurs. Une information concernant votre emploi vous sera demandée en plus de vos données personnelles.

En combien de temps ma demande d'AVE sera traitée ?

Le délai de traitement est de 48 heures pour un départ urgent. Si vous effectuez votre demande bien en avance, vous avez tout de même la possibilité de demander votre AVE “au plus tôt” ou bien “au plus proche de la date d’arrivée”.

Quelle est la durée de séjour autorisée sur le territoire avec un AVE ?

Vous pouvez rester sur le territoire canadien jusqu’à 180 jours maximum par séjour et pendant toute la durée de validité de votre AVE. Cela n’est pas propre au document mais dépend du programme d’exemption de visa associé à la nationalité du voyageur.

Pour quels motifs de voyage je peux demander l’AVE ?

L’AVE peut être demandée pour effectuer un séjour touristique, d’affaires ou bien pour un transit.

Cette autorisation de voyage AVE est-elle obligatoire pour voyager au Canada ?

L’AVE vous sera demandée avant même votre arrivée au Canada. Votre compagnie aérienne sera amenée à vérifier votre AVE avant l’embarquement. Vous devrez également présenter ce document à l’immigration canadienne avant votre entrée sur le territoire. Il est donc indispensable d’effectuer une demande avant le départ pour être autorisé à voyager.

Pour combien de temps mon AVE est valide ?

L’AVE est valable 5 ans à compter de la date d’émission. Attention, votre passeport doit bien être valide jusqu’à la date d’expiration de votre AVE. Si ce n’est pas le cas, il faudra effectuer une nouvelle demande AVE.

J’ai un transit au Canada, dois-je demander l’AVE ?

La demande AVE est obligatoire pour effectuer un transit au Canada.

Suis-je assuré(e) d’entrer au Canada avec mon autorisation de voyage ?

Comme toute autre autorisation de voyage électronique, les autorités vous donnent le droit d’entrer sur le territoire sous réserve de la décision de l’agent d’immigration dans le pays concerné. La plupart du temps, des questions vous sont demandées et elles peuvent concerner la durée de votre séjour, les visites, vos déplacements prévus…

Quelles sont les nationalités exemptées d’AVE?

Plusieures typologies peuvent être exemptées d’AVE, notamment les PNC et aviateurs, les Américains ou encore les voyageurs qui ont un visa canadien valide ou bien ceux dont leur nationalité est exemptée de visa transit. Si vous avez le moindre doute, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter par tchat ou par mail.

Je souhaite partir étudier ou travailler au Canada, quelles sont les démarches ?

Si votre demande concerne les études ou un emploi rémunéré, vous devez vous rapprocher d’une ambassade pour effectuer une demande de visa.

Dois-je vérifier la validité de mon passeport avant mon départ au Canada ?

Vous devez voyager avec un passeport valide pendant toute la durée de votre séjour. Votre passeport doit être biométrique et ordinaire. Notre agence n’accepte pas les cartes d’identités, passeports d’urgences, diplomatiques, cartes de résidences ou titres de séjours.

Une assurance voyage est-elle obligatoire pour le Canada ?

L’assurance voyage n’est pas obligatoire. Cependant, vous devez avoir en tête que les frais médicaux sont assez élevés en Amérique du Nord. Il est donc conseillé d’assurer votre séjour. Nous vous recommandons un partenaire, référent dans les assurances voyages.

J'effectue une croisière, puis-je entrer sur le territoire avec un AVE ?

Vous ne pourrez pas entrer avec l’AVE par voie maritime, un visa doit être demandé auprès d’une ambassade avant votre départ. N’hésitez pas à vous renseigner auprès de votre compagnie de croisière.

L’AVE permet-il d’entrer plusieurs fois sur le territoire canadien ?

L’AVE est une autorisation de voyage multi-entrées, vous pouvez l’utiliser pendant 5 ans en respectant la durée de séjour de 180 jours maximum.

Puis-je arriver au Canada par frontière terrestre ou maritime depuis les USA ?

L’AVE ne concerne que les entrées par voie aérienne.

Puis-je réaliser une demande d'AVE pour plusieurs voyageurs ?

Sur notre formulaire, vous avez la possibilité de compléter une seule demande et d’entrer plusieurs voyageurs. Lors de l’édition, vous recevrez par la suite un AVE par voyageur. L’AVE sera composé des données personnelles d’un seul voyageur.

Canada : les restrictions Covid-19 pour voyager

Informations à jour en date du 15/02/2024
En résumé :
  • Ce pays n'impose pas d'examen médical à l'arrivée
  • Aucun test PCR n'est demandé par ce pays (mais peut l'être par la compagnie aérienne)
  • Aucun pass sanitaire n'est demandé par ce pays
  • Ce pays ne demande pas de vaccination Covid-19 à ses voyageurs entrants
  • Aucune quarantaine n'est nécessaire à l'arrivée dans ce pays
  • Aucun formulaire de santé n'est demandé pour aller dans ce pays